Elton John – Too Low for Zero Album

Side one

  1. Cold as Christmas (In the Middle of the Year)” – 4:19
  2. I’m Still Standing” – 3:02
  3. Too Low for Zero” – 5:46
  4. Religion” – 4:05
  5. I Guess That’s Why They Call It the Blues” (Music: John, Davey Johnstone) – 4:41

Side two

  1. Crystal” – 5:05
  2. Kiss the Bride” – 4:22
  3. Whipping Boy” – 3:43
  4. Saint” – 5:17
  5. One More Arrow” – 3:34

Too Low for Zero is the twenty-third album (the seventeenth in the studio) by the British artist Elton John, published in May 1983.

The LP, recorded in September 1982 at Air Studios (Montserrat) and Sunset Sounds (Hollywood, United States), marks a return to critical and sales success, after a decidedly confusing period for Pinner’s pianist. This rebirth was made possible by the reformation of the glorious Elton John Band of the seventies (Dee Murray on bass, Nigel Olsson on drums and Davey Johnstone on guitars) and the final reunion with lyricist Bernie Taupin: John had indeed decided to refer to the golden age of his career and return to the origins. On this record, for the first time since the days of Empty Sky (1969), Elton plays all keyboard instruments; the production is by Chris Thomas, while Stevie Wonder at the harmonica is present in I Guess That’s Why They Call It the Blues.

Aso Low for Zero, as already mentioned, was positively received by critics and reported John in the British Top 10 (# 7 UK), despite achieving a # 25 USA on the other side of the Atlantic. Four singles were published: the aforementioned I Guess That’s Why They Call It the Blues, I’m Still Standing, Kiss the Bride, and Cold as Christmas (In the Middle of the Year). The first two in particular will have a lot of luck and are considered among the most popular and beloved classics of Elton John, like the workhorses of the seventies.

In 1998 the remastered version of the CD album was released, containing three bonus tracks: the instrumental Earn While You Learn (composed by Elton under the pseudonym of Lord Choc Ice), Dreamboat and The Retreat. In addition, in 2006, the radio station Capital Gold put the record on its list of the 500 best albums in the standings (at 205th place).