Elton John – The Captain & the Kid Album

Side one

  1. Postcards from Richard Nixon” – 5:15
  2. Just Like Noah’s Ark” – 5:33
  3. Wouldn’t Have You Any Other Way (NYC)” – 4:38
  4. Tinderbox” – 4:25
  5. “And the House Fell Down” – 4:48

Side two

  1. Blues Never Fade Away” – 4:45
  2. The Bridge” – 3:38
  3. I Must Have Lost It on the Wind” – 3:53
  4. Old ’67” – 4:01
  5. The Captain and the Kid” – 5:03

The Captain & the Kid is the 29th studio album by British musician Elton John, released September 18, 2006.

On May 23, 1975 appeared Elton John’s album Captain Fantastic and the Brown Dirt Cowboy. The album was seen as a musical biography of the life of Elton John and Bernie Taupin.

Since 2001, Elton John tried to return to his roots. To this end, he sought contact with Taupin, with whom he had been successful in the 1970s as a songwriting duo. Conceptually, The Captain & the Kid is the follow-up album to Captain Fantastic and the Brown Dirt Cowboy and features autobiographical texts. Also musically recalls can be seen, especially through a particularly intense piano accompaniment and simpler, more accessible song structures that contrast with the use of string and wind instruments and synthesizers in previous albums.

Overall, this album is a compilation of happy and soulful songs, although especially ballads are in the foreground. Thematically, the album uses mostly American motifs to describe the American dream to the listener. Would not You Any Other Way (NYC) report on the relationship of Elton John to the city of New York. In the song Postcards from Richard Nixon, Elton John describes what it had been like the first time he visited America.