Elton John – Ice on Fire Album

Side one

  1. This Town” – 3:56
  2. Cry to Heaven” – 4:16
  3. Soul Glove” – 3:31
  4. Nikita” – 5:43
  5. Too Young” – 5:12

Side two

  1. Wrap Her Up” (John, Taupin, Davey Johnstone, Fred Mandel, Charlie Morgan, Paul Westwood) – 6:21
  2. Satellite” – 3:57 (4:37 on CD reissue)
  3. Tell Me What the Papers Say” – 3:40
  4. Candy by the Pound” – 3:56
  5. Shoot Down the Moon” – 5:09

Ice on Fire is the twenty-fifth album (the nineteenth in the studio) of British singer Elton John, published in November 1985.

The album was recorded at Sol Studios (Berkshire, United Kingdom). He is rich in collaborations with different musicians (for example, Roger Meddows-Taylor and John Deacon, respectively Queen’s drummer and bassist, play in the song Too Young). The production is the work of Gus Dudgeon (for the first time since the time of Blue Moves), who in the first half of the seventies had contributed to the consecration of Elton as the undisputed superstar; the historic producer, however, winks at the synth-pop (very popular in the eighties) and the new wave and the results are disappointing, also because Elton begins to make an increasingly massive use of alcohol and drugs. Critics judge Ice on Fire as one of the worst jobs ever produced by Elton John; even the US public does not seem to like the album (# 48), while at home it reaches even a # 3, helped by the song Nikita (single of huge success throughout Europe). The other extracts from the LP are Cry to Heaven and Wrap Her Up (duet with George Michael).

In 1992, Ice on Fire was released on CD by Geffen Records and MCA Records: as the only bonus track, the single Act of War was inserted, a duet with Millie Jackson that went virtually unnoticed. However, the original 1985 CD release already had Act of war as an added track. In 1998, the album was republished on CD: this remastered reissue included four bonus tracks. The first was The Man Who Never Died, a song dedicated to John Lennon (like the previous Empty Garden (Hey Hey Johnny), from the album Jump Up!); the second a live version of Restless, performed at Wembley Stadium during the Breaking Hearts Tour, aimed at promoting the homonymous album of 1984; the third is a live version of Sorry Seems To Be The Hardest Word, performed in May 1977 (and not in 1984, as erroneously credited on the cover, the latter version is available as a B-side of Nikita’s 7 “; a live version of I’m Still Standing, performed, like Restless, at Wembley Stadium in 1984. In addition, the song Satellite presents an extensive intro alternative already in the CD version of 1985.