Elton John – Elton John Album

Side one
No. Title Length
1. Your Song 4:02
2. I Need You to Turn To 2:35
3. Take Me to the Pilot 3:47
4. No Shoe Strings on Louise 3:31
5. First Episode at Hienton 4:48
Side two
No. Title Length
6. Sixty Years On 4:35
7. Border Song 3:22
8. The Greatest Discovery 4:12
9. The Cage 3:28
10. The King Must Die 5:23

Elton John is the second studio album by the British musician Elton John and was released on April 10, 1970 in the UK and on July 22, 1970 in the US. It is considered John’s first successful studio album and made him a star almost overnight.

Elton’s first LP Empty Sky was a big flop with only 4,000 units sold. John’s publisher Dick James, however, enabled him to make this further album, which helped him to make a breakthrough. Although Elton John is John’s second album, it was often considered his debut because the actual debut in the US was not released until 1975.

The recordings took place during several sessions in January 1970 at the Trident Studios in London. Originally, album coordinator Steve Brown wanted to beat Beatles producer George Martin for the recordings, but failed due to Martin’s condition as an arranger, while Brown had already chosen Paul Buckmaster. Buckmaster had previously arranged David Bowie’s Space Oddity, and its producer Gus Dudgeon was also hired to look after Elton John.

During the album’s production, the songs Thank You Mama, All the Way Down to El Paso and I’m Going Home were also recorded but not used for the album.